Book Review – My Dark, Sordid Past as a Heterosexual, First Destiny: The Autobiography of Dr. Zsuzsanna E. Budapest

My Dark, Sordid Past as a Heterosexual, First Destiny:  The Autobiography of Dr. Zsuzsanna E. Budapest

 

“I have been born many times.”

 

Thus begins Z.’s life story and she has had a fascinating life, rife with “Forrest Gump”- like moments. Born in Budapest, Hungary in 1940, Z. offers an eyewitness account of life before and after World War II and the Hungarian revolution. She enjoyed privilege as a young child only to have it all snatched away by war. She became a political refugee after narrowly escaping a massacre at a political protest she had intended to attend. After that, she left her home in Hungary and made her way across Europe, finally emigrating to the United States. And that is where her adventures really begin.

Z. tells her story in her own playfully mischievous way. As I read this book, I could imagine those blues eyes of her twinkling as she told her stories. She hides nothing and for some, parts of this book may be wickedly ( and delightfully) shocking. I have had the privilege of meeting Z. on several occasions and being in her presence makes one just feel happy. Reading this book gives me almost the same feeling. Knowing the story of her early life makes me anticipate the next decades when she began founding the Women’s Spirituality Movement, including her arrest and trial for tarot reading that changed the law of the land for the better.

I am looking forward to reading the next installment. If Z.’s first destiny is the appetizer, the main course is going to be amazing.

23137099

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment